Super-Packed Trail Mix

For the past week, I’ve been shredding it with Jillian. Every. Single. Day.

20140505-171555.jpg

Let me tell you, this workout is intense! The workouts are designed to be only 20 minutes long, which is perfect for a busy schedule, but they are 20-non-stop minutes. Jillian models her workout on high intensity interval training. From start to finish, there are no breaks and you end the workout dripping in sweat. My sister in law has been doing it with me, and we both agree that it’s the toughest workout DVD we’ve tried.

I haven’t noticed a whole lot of change in my body appearance, but I can feel myself getting stronger. I’m going to try to stay off the scale until the 30 days is over so that I don’t get discouraged.

Along with trying to work out on a regular basis, I’m learning about little ways to better fuel our bodies. I’ve been experimenting a little with some new-to-me superfoods: Goji berries and Mulberries. Both are quite sweet. The goji berries are a little tart and the mulberries taste a lot like raisins. Both are packed full of good-for-you stuff!

20140505-121402.jpg

Goji Berries – These little dried berries contain a healthy dollop of macronutrients. Carbohydrates, protein, healthy fats and soluble fiber. If that’s not enough, they also include 18 amino acids, free-radical fighting antioxidants, carotenoids, vitamins A, C and E, and more than 20 other vitamins and minerals.

Mulberries – These dried berries pack a protein punch! With 3 grams per ounce, this may become your best fruit friend! They are also a good source of iron, calcium, vitamin C, and dietary fiber. It also contains high levels of resveratrol – the powerful antioxidant found in red wine.

With packages filling my pantry, I decided this weekend to make my own trail mix. It’s an easy (and delicious!) way to get an added boost throughout the day. And when that 3pm craving strikes, hit the trail mix instead of the vending machine!

20140505-121326.jpg

I kept the ingredient list simple: Almonds, goji berries, mulberries, and dark chocolate. It would also be great to use half almonds, half cashews… but I didn’t have any cashews on hand. I made a big batch since Mother’s Day is this Sunday, but you may choose to cut the batch in half if you aren’t planning on sharing.

First, roast 2 cups of almonds in the oven for 15-20 minutes (or until you smell that nutty flavor!) – allow the nuts to cool completely.

20140505-121307.jpg

I chopped up 4 or 5 squares from this Giradelli Intense Dark Chocolate bar, and mixed it together with a cup of Goji berries and a cup of Mulberries. Once the nuts were cool, I added them to the bowl and stirred until combined.

20140505-121441.jpg

Seal them in an airtight container, and you’ve got a great snack for the next 7-10 days… if they last that long!

20140505-121416.jpg

What is your favorite healthy snack?

Leave a Reply

