Resting on His Promises

Lately, I’ve felt a real notion that the devil is alive and well. He has been trying to invade our lives in more ways than I care to count. From health to employment to transportation to broken promises, he has weaseled his slippery hand into every area of our lives. And I don’t like it.

On this dreary Monday morning, I found myself sitting at my desk dwelling on each and every issue that is causing me worry and heartache. I’m an easy going person and typically let things roll off my back. But start messing with my family? I can physically feel the pressure of my problems mounting inside me. Just then, in the middle of my pity party, I remembered that I have the only Weapon stronger than the devil. My Savior has power over Satan. You see, the devil only wins if you let him. Jesus is control of all things – even the devil – and Jesus has my whole world in His steady hands. He isn’t going to me fall apart at the seams – not if I keep my focus on Him. He is my strength, my Guide, my Protector, my Shield. But, if I’m honest, I haven’t been looking to Him in the ways that I should. My stress levels have been high and my prayers have been short.

The funny thing is that Easter Sunday is just one week away. On that day, I’ll join with my church family in celebrating the resurrection of our King.

Jesus died so I can live. I owe Him my whole life. So these problems that I dwell on aren’t even my own. He’s going to act according to His perfect will for my life and the lives of those who love Him. I will rest on His promises and trust in His Word.

There is no better day than today to run back into the arms of Jesus.

“For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God; not as a result of works, so that no one may boast. (Ephesians 2:8-9)

Leave a Reply

