In the midst of a trial

I don’t want to kill your mood, but I’ve got to be honest… Real life is tough!

The last few weeks (or maybe even months) have been really difficult for a lot of people close to us. It seems like illness is creeping up all around us. When our friends are suffering, we try to do anything and everything we can to bring them comfort and support. We rally around them, bring them meals, send cards of encouragement, or give them a big bear hug. And while I’m sure those things are appreciated, let’s face it – we’re not truly helping them feel better. At least not for very long.

I think that in the midst of turmoil, we often lose sight of the only source of hope that will never betray us. We have a holy Savior who loves us and extends His grace to us. Even when we least expect it. God provides for us according to His timing, not our own. Life is full of heartache. Instead of pulling away from God in anger and resentment, why don’t we fall on our knees before God and ask that He fill us with peace?

For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin. Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.
Hebrews 4:15-16

I’m not saying that it’s easy. It is hard for us to live with God at our focus when we are hurting so deeply. That is why it is so important to be in God’s Word in the good times and in the bad. If we are daily equipping ourselves with the Armor of God, we’ll be better able to withstand (or at least endure) the difficulties that come our way.

We were never promised an easy ride in this world. In fact, we were promised the opposite.  Jesus tells us in John 16:33, “I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.” Trials make us stronger, more Christ-like, and better witnesses to others.

Don’t take my word for it. In many ways, I’m writing this post as much for myself as I am for you. I, too, need to be reminded that My God is a faithful and loving God. Jesus is my Protector, my Hope, my Redeemer. I just want Him to be those things for you as well, and then maybe, just maybe, we can be made stronger through our trials.

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope. Romans 15:13

Leave a comment