Woman of the Week!

I got to do something super cool for my mom a few weeks ago – and I’m still smiling about it!

IMG_3239

My mom is easily one of the most incredible people I know, and it’s always been that way. Growing up, we’ve always had a close bond and enjoyed spending time together. Even through my rebellious stage, she stood by my side, always defended me, and was my biggest cheerleader.

Today she is my best friend, my shopping buddy, my shoulder to lean on, my confidant, and my hero. I’m in awe of the person she is and hope only to be half the woman she is one day. I know that sounds cliché, but she is a really special person to me and I’m the luckiest girl on earth to have her for my mom.

Around Thanksgiving time, our local radio station had a contest on their website to submit a short story about someone you are thankful for and why. Without a second thought, I submitted a story similar to the one below…

When I was pregnant with Cameron in October of 2012, I went into preterm labor at 31 weeks. My mom drove me to the hospital and I ended up being admitted with an IV in my arm and doctors and nurses viciously trying to stop labor. I had two days of steroid shots to help speed up the baby’s lung development in case the labor couldn’t be stopped, followed by 5 days of IV drugs attempting to stop the contractions and calm my body down. I was hooked up to monitors, given numerous tests, and bedridden with no option to stand up even if I needed to. One of the medications even made my childhood asthma return, so I was on breathing treatments and taken down for chest x-rays twice a day! I was terrified but tried to stay strong. I had a three year old little girl at home whose world was turned upside-down because we weren’t sure when mommy could come home. We tried to keep her schedule as normal as possible. My mom took her to school in the morning and then drove down to the hospital to stay with me for the day. In the early afternoon, she’d head back to pick Kailey up so that my husband could come spend the nights with me at the hospital. My mom kept everything calm when our world could have been totally been rocked. Without her, I’m not sure how we would have managed that week. And without nightly sleepovers at Mimi’s house, I’m afraid Kailey would have been scarred from the whole ordeal. After 8 days in the hospital, the labor seemed to have settled, although I was still having contractions every 5 minutes without fail. If I promised to stay on strict bed rest for the next four weeks and take a little pill every 6 hours, my doctor would allow me to go home. We agreed.

Even at home, we still needed help. I was allowed out of bed to use the restroom and take a quick shower once a day, but other than that I was to stay in bed at all costs. Whoever thought bedrest was a vacation is seriously mistaken. It was the longest four weeks that I can remember. My mom continued to help us each day; taking Kailey to school, keeping up with the laundry, filling prescriptions and running errands around town – all of this and still maintaining her full-time job! She was a Godsend to us and she will never know how much we appreciate all that she has done and continues to do for us.

Now… keep in mind, this is one of MANY stories I could have submitted about my mom, but ultimately I thought it showed a great example of her selflessness. But guess what? She didn’t win! I never heard a word from the radio station and after a few days, I had pretty much forgotten about the contest altogether.

A few weeks pass by and I get an email early one morning… from the radio station. They mentioned the story I’d submitted for the Thanksgiving contest and asked if I’d like to honor my mom as their Woman of the Week! They planned to call me that morning to record an interview that would be played the following morning on the air. Now on this particular day, Kailey and I were both home sick from school and work. Stomach bug sick. The last thing I wanted to do was give an interview, but there was no way I was going to pass up the opportunity to honor my mom. I quickly replied “YES!” and in less than 3 hours, the interview was complete.

http://picosong.com/YHbb <– Listen to it here!

It aired the next morning and my mom called me in tears – happy tears! It was such a great experience and I’m so grateful to Z88.3 for giving my mom such a special gift!

381980_766719072364_551752909_n

Leave a Reply

